Tags

, , ,

Tristan’s always loved superheroes. In fact, ‘Batman’ was one of the first words he spoke. He has always been very invested in his favorite superheroes.

When he was about three, he discovered Iron Man. He would stick stickers all up and down his arms before Church so he could press all the ‘buttons’ Iron Man pressed in his armor. And he made a very distinct blasting sound when he shot ammo from his palms like Iron Man. One day, I was in the middle of stopping him from doing something dangerous when he turned around and ‘blasted’ me with his palm, complete with sound effect! I was shocked and amused at the same time. So I got down to his level and told him that trying to blast Mommy like Iron Man when she was trying to protect him wasn’t a very nice thing to do. He apologized and went off to do some more pretending. (I have to say, one of my favorite things about him is his imagination – more on that another time.) He came back to me a few minutes later and from a distance said, ‘Mom.’ When I looked his way, he touched his palm to his lips like he was going to blow me a kiss and the ‘blasted’ it to me like Iron Man. I was bowled over! And that’s how our special ‘superhero kisses’ were born.

He has a special way for kissing me for each of his favorite superheroes. There’s a Batman Kiss, a Silver Surfer Kiss, A Wolverine Kiss, a Superman Kiss, and more recently, a Sherlock Kiss! There are so many more that I can’t think of right now. Oh how I love those kisses! And I love that for now, they’re all mine.

Running at me like Wolverine.

Running at me like Wolverine.

Helping him fly.

Helping him fly.

One of the other reasons he’s my favorite superhero is because of all the wonderful things he says. When he was barely four, he told me in the car one day, ‘My wife’s kids are gonna be so cute!’. I was amazed at where that thought would have come from. I was separated from their father when Tristan was only seven months old and so he’s hardly had someone to model that behavior for him, and yet one of the things he’s always planning is how good a father he’s going to be. Once, he misguidedly told me (clearly in rebellion of my negative response to something he’d asked me), ‘I’m never going to say ‘no’ to my kids. I will give them whatever they want!’. I told him I’d be happy to have that conversation with him when he actually has kids!

Tonight, as I braided Lola’s hair before bedtime, he said, ‘I wanna watch how you do it, so I can do it for my daughter – if I ever have one.’ It always catches me by surprise when he says delightful little things like that. I’ve never known a little boy who’s already planning the things he’s going to be doing with his daughter. And he’s only 6!

And last, but not least, he’s my favorite superhero because he prides himself on being a gentleman. He always makes me wait for him to open my car door before I get out or in. He holds doors and waits for girls to be seated before he sits down himself. He has wonderful manners and for the most part, he is polite.

I just wish he stays on this path he’s on. He’s so wonderfully tuned in to be a superhero, the kind this world desperately needs. A superhero who has a love for his family, who is chivalrous and who loves and respects the women in his life. I love that little boy like crazy!

I am his first kiss, his first love, and his first friend. I am his momma and he is my little boy.

I am his first kiss, his first love, and his first friend. I am his momma and he is my little boy.

Who could ask for a better (not to mention cuter) superhero?

And that’s all I have to say about that…

For now.