Tags

, , ,

Day 12 of November Photo-a-Day Challenge

If you’ve been paying attention, you’d’ve noticed that there’s a huge gap between days in the post, to the tune of eight missing days. That’s because I have been spread thin with so many things that I just could not keep up. I toyed with the idea of abandoning the project all together, but that would just be lame. So while I was waiting for Larissa at her dance class, I was lucky enough to spot a wonderful depiction of opposites. I only regret not having a better lens with me, but this’ll have to do.

I remember the first time I’d ever seen the moon during daylight. I was still in elementary school and my mother was walking me to school that morning. I noticed the waxing moon in the sky and I totally freaked out. I thought the world was going to end or something – the idea was completely unheard of to me. My whole life I’d known that the sun belonged to the day and the moon belonged to the night, and here was this spectacle making a lie of my entire existence! My mother loving told me that it happens sometimes and because I trusted her wholeheartedly, that was enough for my little mind at the time. That said, when the anxiety wore off I felt pretty special to have seen something so extraordinary.

The moon has always held a special fascination for me. I love seeing that magical orb, suspended in various stages of waxing or waning defiantly in the sky. Even when all I can see is a sliver, I can’t help but feel drawn to it.

What could be a better representation of opposites than the beacon of the night making an appearance in the day?

day and moon ipiccy

And that’s all I have to say about that…

For now.

