Tags

, , , ,

Day 3 of Photo-a-Day challenge.

Back in 2006, when Larissa (my middle baby) was about 15 months old, I had to go through a particularly difficult situation where I had to get help in weaning her, and getting her to self-settle. I was emotionally at the end of my tether because she would not eat, and she breastfed every hour. I kid you not! It was real. And this happened day and night – she would not sleep for more than about 40 to 50 minutes at a time. I was a wreck and I still had an 8 year-old and husband to take care of. Upon a friend’s recommendation that I try a clinic that helps with that sort of stuff, I made a decision to give it a go.

While it was a harrowing experience for both Larissa and myself, I feel the benefits far outweighed the torment. We both learned and embraced the new routine and things started to look better for my whole family.

Here’s a photo of her having a bath on her last of our five-day stay at the clinic:

Bath at tresillian ipiccy

awww, look at that punim…

(the quality of that photo is poor because I was using an old Nokia camera-phone)

Anyway, so when Larissa would go down for her nap in the day, which lasted for two hours (what-what), I greedily used that time for making myself better at something. My passion at that time was trying to capture sunsets in paintings. I’ve never had art lessons, so it’s strictly amateur, believe me, but I derived a lot of joy from these little projects. I looked forward to midday each weekday so that I could pull out my paints and canvas and let loose.

So for today’s photo challenge, I’m posting a photo of one of the paintings. Very few people have seen them because I’m so self-conscious about them. This particular image is a capture of an evening when I was stopped at a traffic light while making a quick dash to the fruit-and-vege market for something I was missing for dinner. I was captivated by how the sky had a perfect blend of day and dusk, with the moon sitting on the day part of the sky, and a palm tree thrown in for good measure. I immediately resolved to make that my next painting, and here is the result. Again, it’s all strictly amateur, nothing earth-shattering, but it’s my little piece of that sky, that evening.

ipiccypainted

And that’s all I have to say about that.

For now…

