Tags

, , ,

Day 2 of the Photo-a-Day challenge requires a close-up.

I’ve never been one for accessories or jewelry. I find them cumbersome at best. This, along with my dislike for hot (as in spicy) food makes mockery of me in relation to my custom heritage. Since my ancestors hail from the exotic land that is India, I feel like a traitor to the no-holds-barred, decked-out-to-the-max approach to jewelry and other adornment so highly favored by the women of my culture. I even managed to avoid wearing my wedding ring the entire duration of my marriage. That was one piece of jewelry I had anticipated wearing my whole life. As it turns out, from the very beginning of my marriage it symbolized a lot of pain for me, so I decided not to wear it. I did sometimes, but only very rarely.

I do have a few things I wear now and again, but they have to mean something to me. For instance, since time immemorial I have adored large hoop earrings. There is something so playfully feminine about them. I bought my first pair as a fifteen year old and they were always on me except for when I went to bed. Earrings are usually my preferred accessory if I do decide to wear accessories.

The subject of today’s photo is one of my all-time favorite pieces. It holds deep symbolism for me and, although it’s an inexpensive, unremarkable bracelet, it is invaluable to me. There are some things that just speak to my soul and this is one of those things.

ipiccyclose-up

And that’s all I have to say about that.

For now…

