Tags

, , , ,

“In the end, a child’s fear of the unknown doesn’t stand a chance against his fear of not knowing.”     ~Robert Brault

Since it was the last week of term-break, the kids and I got down to some serious holiday fun. They spent the first week of break primarily at their dad’s place, so I was eager to spend some time with them.

On Monday, we used the opportunity to have a sleep-in and have a lazy day at home (thrilling stuff, I know). On Tuesday, we went to watch ‘The Lorax’. We laughed, we cried (I cried mostly about the exorbitant snack bar prices) and we left feeling psyched to do our bit for the environment. The weather in Sydney was rather deplorable this week, so the driving conditions had me a little worried.

The two littlies had a temple activity on Wednesday that ended up being cancelled due to really terrible weather conditions, so we stayed in and painted to our hearts content. Admittedly, it wasn’t all smooth-sailing, with tempers a little short (we’ll blame the weather for that, too) and a few anti-social people here and there things got interesting, but on the whole, the memories were priceless.

On Thursday, we went to watch ‘The Hunger Games’ for the second time. This time I remembered to pack our snacks from home! I can honestly say I enjoyed the movie every bit as much as I did when I first saw it. I am deeply saddened that the Director, Gary Ross, pulled out of the second movie because his vision of how the movie was done was strikingly similar to how I’d imagined things as I was reading the books. And, he tastefully left out the really gruesome details. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of the new Director, Francis Lawrence. Having said that, I’ll just have to wait and see. Won’t I?

On Friday I baked a banana cake. It has been quite some time since I last made one but it turned out amazing. I had to drop the littlies to their dad’s again and then drop Zoe off for a farewell party for her friend. I ended up joining them a while later. The party was  going on well enough until people decided to ambush the guy leaving and dunk him in the pool. Well, he didn’t take it lying down. Mayhem ensued, which resulted in Zoe getting dunked repeatedly. The highlight for me, though, was when one of Zoe’s friends was so resistant to being dunked she practically dismantled the lawn table by holding/pulling/pushing/leaning so hard and frantically you’d think her life really did depend on it! It. Was. Insane. But, I loved every minute of it. Great night. Oh, and another highlight: one of the guys we gave a ride home to sang along to ‘Now We Are Free’ from the ‘Gladiator’ Soundtrack. Priceless.

Saturated Sweeties

You can just guess what he did next.

Saturday was a day of shopping…. I have deliberately blocked those memories from my mind because I loathe shopping, but I did enjoy the time I got to spend with my sister and Zoe.

Today was a day of worship and final farewells. A dear friend of ours will be serving a two year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. It was bitter-sweet, knowing that he was embarking on a journey of service, but also that we would not be seeing him for such a long time.

And that, is how our week went. I know, I know, there are great big holes in the recount, but, seriously, I am giving myself a headache trying to fill in the gaps.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

For now.

