My 7-year-old daughter came home from school today and announced that her teacher told her, ‘Diamonds are a girl’s best friend’, to which I replied, ‘Books are a girl’s best friend!’. And I believe that with all my soul! All the good that has come in my life has been, in some shape or form, the result of a good book. The most influential being, of course, the Book of Mormon.

A few (of the innumerable) books that hold a special place in my heart are:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Jane Eyre taught me about courage in the face of the most intense temptation. This is the quiessential ‘Girl Power’ book for me because of the spirit that Jane modelled in every aspect of her life. She refused to let the adverse circumstances of her life dictate the direction of her life. She refused to let her pure love become defiled by mere convenience. She chose, at every step of the way, to be honorable and just, not only to others (including those who had been grossly unjust to her), but more importantly, to herself. She is the epitome of integrity.

Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie

Peter Pan made my imagination take on a whole new dimension. It remains one of my all-time favorites. I take so much delight in this book which is just pure escape for me. It has also helped me see how I have evolved from a child to a mother. I have loved knowing at least one of my children has read and loved this book as much as I have and I can’t wait for the other two to become converted as well! Peter Pan should be a part of every childhood.

And for the purposes of this post, last, but not least…

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

I could literally carry on and on about my love for the Harry Potter books, but I won’t. You’re welcome :). But I will say this, this treasure of a series, adored by children and adults alike, is mind-bogglingly complex on so many levels, and yet is so simple. The central message is that there is no magic more powerful than good ol’ Love.  And that’s what I love about this so much. For all the potion-making and spell-casting and whatever else it was that they learned in their wizarding school (which I loved as well, don’t get me wrong), it’s always love that is always the most potent magic, and hey, don’t we all want to be able to wield power? So I find it very empowering to know that I have the ability to wield the greatest kind of power there is.

I could squander away every waking minute of my day reading, but that wouldn’t make for a life of balance, now, would it? So my dilemma is always this, do I reach for something new to devour or should I revisit an old favorite?

Thankfully, I stumbled across a few quotes that addressed this very dilemma. Wha’d’ya know?

One brilliant mind poses a question and the other unwittingly solves it!

I guess I can safely say that this will be my new rule:

“The worst thing about new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones.”
― Joseph Joubert

“It is a good rule after reading a new book, never to allow yourself another new one till you have read an old one in between.”
― C.S. Lewis

And that’s all I have to say about that.

For now.

