Tags

,

I had the place to myself today. I was very proud of myself because I resisted the urge to indulge in some mindless pursuit and chose to do the dishes instead.

While I was thus engaged, I chanced upon some very enlightening documentaries. (Who says you can’t have it all?)

The first one was called Girl Power on ABC’s Foreign Correspondent. I found the whole situation of how Afghanistani women are being treated quite deplorable. The one story that really affected me was about the young girl named Sahar Gul who had been viciously brutalized by her in-laws to whom she had been traded for a debt. The fact that I have daughter merely a year younger than this tortured child tore at my heart.  I enthusiastically applaud my new heroine, Noorjahan Akbar, who is such a bright spark of refreshing hope that I can’t help but wish that I could send her a cosmic package of my own energies to bolster  her inexhaustible efforts to bring reform to a nation’s mentality regarding women.

The next documentary was about Paranoia and Science Fiction. Steven Spielberg, George Lucas and James Cameron were among some of the people to shed light on the subject. Since I am an avid sci-fi/fantasy fan, it continued to provide ample entertainment while I labored away with the dishes.

That was followed by ‘The Visual Language of Herbert Matter’ which was in turn followed by BBC documentary Ugly Beauty

You must think I have a lot of dishes. The truth is, I do. I have an unreasonable amount of dishes and I am perpetually cleaning them for some odd reason or another – but mostly because they have been used and need to be cleaned! As good a reason as any, if you ask me 🙂

And that’s all I have to say about that.

For now…

